considered a visionary and driving force behind the
growth of our city, Frank Kell moved to Wichita Falls in
1896 at the urging of his brother-in-law, Joseph Kemp.
The two men were involved in the grain industry, the
development of Lake Wichita, the utilities companies,
the newspaper, the streetcar system, the railroad, the
local college, and much more. In 1909, Mr. Kell
purchased the land on the bluff overlooking downtown
and, with his sister-in-law Mrs. Minnie Mae Addickes
serving as contractor, he built a home for his family.
The Kell family home was occupied by Miss Willie May
Kell after the death of her parents. When Miss Kell
passed away in 1980, the Kell House was purchased and
restored by the Wichita County Heritage Society, and the
Kell House Museum opened in 1981.
The Kell House is one of the most historically and
architecturally significant buildings in Wichita Falls.
The Museum features distinctive architecture designed by
the local firm of Jones and Orlopp, original family
furnishings, textiles, decorative arts, and historic
costumes. Guided tours of this local, state, and
national landmark provide a fascinating history of this
area’s early settlement and of the Kell family.
900 Bluff Street
Wichita Falls, Texas 76301
Family in 1910:
Left to Right
Back: Joseph, Carrie, Bess, Willie May, Sadie
Front: Mary Jo, Lula Kemp Kell, Frank Kell, Sybil, Emma
Frances Stinnett Kemp